Adult life

4 Jun

It’s been about a month and a half since I graduated from college. Looking for a job may seem harder than it is. I initially applied to a big television network due to pressure by my relatives. I actually thought that I didn’t want to apply for it but I gave it a shot. It was hard when everyone else were resting or applying to different companies but I only had one application. Older peers and other relatives tell me to apply somewhere else. So I did. Luckily, I got a call from a big telecommunications company and was accepted. I thought I wouldn’t make it, but just like what my friends say, I nailed it. ¬†But amidst my requirements, the relative of mine who wanted me to be in the television network kept bugging me and telling me to give that job opportunity a chance. I thought, if it was meant for me, they would’ve contact me. It had been several weeks then. When I got accepted at the telecommunications company, I was asked to take the exam for the tv network. I took the exam and said they would call me afterwards. I don’t get my hopes up. The position is too big for someone like me. I also didn’t want to apply there in the first place. I was just forced anyway.

My decision, I chose to be in the telecommunications company. I have older peers and acquaintances saying how it was nice working there, the environment, the people, and the benefits. Compared to the tv network that is notorious for the boastful and unhealthy environment, I did not hesitate to choose the former. It was a hard choice for me. When I was younger, I dreamt of working for the television production field but growing up, I saw the harsh and cruel reality of it. The working environment will kill you and I was also told that you can only go up if the people in position will leave. It’s also given that you can only get salaries when you have a show. I am not ready to be like that. I prefer to have a stable job, which I found my new-found job.

It was hard to think how I deal with the expenses and taxes. I have to save up for plane tickets in the future too, when I decide to leave to go to Canada. By the time I have adjusted, I will leave. It’s sad, but it’s the reality. The reality is that we have a 32% tax deducted from our salary that is just being corrupted. It’s painful as an employee. I know I’ll strive.

As I begin a new chapter as an adult, hello, challenges.

Leave a Reply

